2011 Roxy Powder Jam Winners Announced!

Amateur And Professional Female Snowboarders Compete In The First Ever Roxy Powder Jam in Record-Breaking Snowfall Conditions at Mammoth Mountain, CA

Huntington Beach, CA  (April 13, 2011)

The Seventh Annual Roxy Chicken Jam is the U.S.’s only all-women’s professional snowboard competition bringing the world’s best female athletes to Mammoth Mountain, CA.
Record snowfall at this year’s festivities resulted in the cancellation of the slopestyle event but in true Roxy form, that didn’t put a damper on the competition. Creative minds at Roxy put together a brand new competition format that would allow the riders to showcase the epic riding condition all over the mountain at Mammoth. The Roxy Powder Jam with cameras provided by GoPro took advantage of the 600+ inches of snowfall by tasking riders to capture the true joy of snowboarding through their eyes.

Teams consisted of three riders divided into invited pros and qualifying amateurs demonstrating their creativity and all-around ability to shred the entire mountain. The competitors were each asked to execute a line, a jib and an air in the video. After submission, the videos were judged on technical difficulty, execution and overall impression and creativity by the official Roxy Chicken Jam judging panel. The panel included Christian Sieverts, Mauricio Natario, MJ Bourgeois, and Jeff Brushie. In keeping with the spirit of Roxy, an extra award was given to the team who submitted the funniest bonus footage.

Invited Riders:
1st     #57- Ty Walker  $5,000
2nd    #94- Erin Comstock  $3,000
3rd     #123- Kimmy Fasani  $1,000

Winning Invited Team: #8- Ty Walker, Erin Comstock, Kimmy Fasani-  $1,500

Quali Riders:
1st        #73- Natsuki Sato  $2,500
2nd       #45- Mariah Dugan  $1,250
3rd       #33-  Ariel Friedman  $750

Winning Quali Team: #5- Mariah Dugan, Natsuki Sato, Michelle Zeller-  $1,000

Bonus prize: Team#9 Torah Bright, Chanelle Sladics, Celia Miller

Other Articles We Recommend For You

Leave a Comment